With This, Everything Changes

Standard

As of this past Saturday, I am 13 weeks pregnant.

As is a theme in my life, the various plans I had played out in my head dissipated in mere moments upon getting the news.  One tiny, faint line and everything changed.  I was resistant at first, determined that my life could continue down the path I had established in my head; eventually I gave in.  For once the event which propels the change in path is positive.  It is also undoubtedly the biggest one I have experienced.

I am staying put in Pachuca for at least one more year.  This is both a relief and a disappointment.  A relief because I really do love this city and I am settled here.  A disappointment because I was so far into my next adventure in my own head that I cannot help but mourn the loss.

If all goes as planned–which we know it never does–Salvador and I will be meeting our child sometime around December 7th.  I’m already in the process of decorating the nursery and, with the hope that I might be here for the next two years–turning my office into a playroom.

I will be working as long as I am allowed to and trying to take as much of my maternity leave after the baby as possible.  And yes, I will be having the baby here in Pachuca.  I have found a doctor who believes in natural births if at all possible.  She delivers in the same hospital one of my American friends delivered in.  I am feeling comfortable.

Though I doubt I am completely ready for this next big change in my life.  I’m not sure that anyone ever is.

6 responses »

  1. Congratulations! I had my little girl naturally at home with a private doctor. The maternity leave law has changed now in Mexico, although IMSS isn’t really with the program yet. Maybe by December they will be! If you’re going to get maternity leave paid through Social Security make sure you start going for your monthly (non-invasive) visits soon. And know that you should be able to take your six weeks that are usually used before the birth and add them to after the birth. And don’t be fooled by any tricky employer gimmicks. You have a lot of rights here in Mexico! Good luck!!!!

  2. Congrats! I look forward to keeping up with your log of this pregnancy. You are going to be just fine in Pachuca. Great doctors there. I know many who have had their babies in Mexico instead of coming back to USA or their country. You need all the rest you can get anyway and travels to have a baby won’t do it.

  3. Hello Miss Sarah!
    I just got a job offer from the American School in Pachuca…is this where you work?
    Could you just tell me what the standard apartment is that they provide?
    Is it a 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom? Is it clean?

    Looking forward to your response!
    Ryan

Leave a Reply

