Moving to Mexico

Standard

I will soon begin my new life in Mexico.  It is exciting and scary at the same time.  The future I had been imagining for myself was not this one; despite that, I feel quite happy about the adventure that is before me–even if I am a bit overwhelmed.

I interviewed with an American school close to a month ago and last week I was informed that they want to hire me.  I feel so blessed to have a job as a teacher anywhere at this point in time, much less a job that allows me to be with my husband.  Assisting in everything falling into place, my husband has managed to secure a long-term construction placement in the same city after being essentially unemployed for about a year.

At the moment I am mentally inventorying my life.  It is difficult to decide what is essential and what is non-essential.  My two main items to bring are books and clothing.  I am leaving many of each behind as I am trying to narrow down what I need for my job.  I am concerned about how many suitcases it will come to.  American allows me five bags, so hopefully they can all be large.  It is odd to think about packing my entire life into five suitcases.  I do not know how I will store these suitcases once I arrive in Mexico.  Hopefully they will fit inside each other and I can just throw a blanket over them and create a side table.

Leave a Reply

