A Gift

Standard

After Sal moved in and we became engaged, I quit the job we both worked together.  The other cooks had started harassing me and I was no longer comfortable at the job.  A story for another time, I suppose.  I was between jobs for about a month.  Salvador felt bad for me considering his “buddies” were the reason I quit the job so he was always looking for ways to lift my spirits (not that I was actually depressed about it).

One night he came home and was looking quite proud of himself.  He kept one hand behind his back as he walked up to me.

“I have a present for you,” he said.

I sat upright.  “Really?  What is it?”

“Here,” he said, bringing his hand around.  In it was a clear, plastic, ball-point pen with half the ink gone.

“Oh,” I said, taking the pen.  “Where did you get this?”

“In the parking lot.  I saw it and since you like to write so much, I take it for you.”

I put the pen in my school bag to take notes in class.  He smiled, content with his grand gesture.

One response »

Leave a Reply

