Silence of the Lambs

Standard

Before entering my story of the day, I wanted to cover something that has been bugging me.  I have Stat Counter (see right hand column) on this blog, which lets me see somewhat more detailed information than WordPress provides to me.  Since I have installed this, I have noticed that the activity is mostly what one would expect–with one exception.

There is someone in Germany who–according to Stat Counter–visits my blog an average of about 13 times a day and one time remained on my site for more than 24 hours.  I have a hard time believing that there is a person out there so dedicated to reading my blog that they could produce such stats.  Does anyone else have Stat Counter (or a similar widget) and notice strange stats like this?  Or do I really have a hardcore, German fan?

With that said, on to my story.

———-

Being that my husband and I are from two very different cultures, we often hit some roadblocks in perceptions and understandings.  These roadblocks are often humorous and are always a learning experience.  Though there are moments when they are not completely positive, I would never trade my situation for any other; our differences keep an element of excitement and surprise between us.

These differences were there from the start of our relationship; however, at the start it was just us.  Once we became engaged, Sal was introduced to my family and suddenly we were all experiencing—and sometimes judging—the differences.

One day we were all sitting in my parent’s den discussing potential wedding plans.  The big question at that time was location: here or Mexico?  My family does not fly, so they wanted something to be done here in the U.S.  His family cannot afford any part of the trip north, so they wanted it in Mexico.

We were going over the pros and cons of each.  My family would make the case for the U.S., Salvador for Mexico, and I would play both sides.  After a bit of back and forth, my mother pointed out that we have family who would “cater”, making the food easier.  Sal brightened at this point, clearly thinking he had a counter point for Mexico that would one-up my family preparing the food.

“In Mexico, we will get married and kill the lambs.  It is good luck and it is food, too,” and he stated.

He looked at us with a gaze that was pure pride.  My family stared at him with their mouths open.

14 responses »

  1. You are definitely right that having two cultures in one relationship adds a different level of differences. Some are funny and other just down right annoying.

    Most of the time with my husband I know that neither of us is going to back down so we just stop the conversation and agree to disagree. That seems the easiest route for use.

    So, where did you get married?

    • In the US, my husband tended to back down without my even trying to get him to. He really wanted to acculturate himself into the local culture. I have no idea how it will be in Mexico, but I am certain I will have my moments of resistance.

      We were married in the US, but it was just a courthouse ceremony. We had to put all of our money towards immigration fees, so there was no money for a large ceremony (or even a small one really). However, I really loved that ceremony and having the opportunity to share my day with so many other couples and all their interesting stories.

  2. I’ve had many of such moments, too. One of favorites is when Saul and I started dating. We went to eat breakfast somewhere and when his stack of pancakes came, he picked it up with his hands, folded it in half, and ate it like a tortilla.With an occasional dip into the syrup. I first felt embarrassed, then just laughed. It was one of those telling moments of “this is going to be different”. 🙂

  3. (= Differences are good. I am from Mexico and my husband is from Argentina. And even though we speak the same language, have almost the same customs and traditions there are moments in which I tell myself… gee, this Argentine man simply does not the Mexican Ways… But, then again there moments in which I know I drive him nuts with my Mexican ways. (=

    • The differences really are wonderful (most of the time). I really cannot imagine being with someone from my exact culture–our backgrounds bring so much life to our relationship.

  4. Perfect title for this post. So where did you end up getting married?

    Face it, you have a hardcore German fan. I hear Germans love David Hasselhoff, why wouldn’t they love you?

    • We married in Missouri, in a courthouse ceremony that only three people attended. However, I am a person who hates big parties and isn’t at all romantic, so I really preferred it that way. Much cheaper as well (the main motivating factor in our choice).

  5. Hilarious! My husband is Mexican and I’m Mexican-American, most of the time we’re on the same page but the times we’re off, we’re REALLY OFF 🙂 BTW I noticed the German thing on my blog too..it’s on blogger though? I don’t get the kind of details you get but I have activity from there…maybe we’re being spied on? 😉 j/k

    • I don’t know why, but the German thing bugs me. If there really is someone reading my site that much, and it isn’t just a bot, I want to know who it is! I love having regular readers, but if this is real, it is stalking territory. Last I checked, this “person” spends an average of 3.5 hours a day on my blog. I think that they should have seen all there is to see by now.

  6. Cute post! I can definetly relate, I love that me n javi have different backgrounds and cultures because there is always a surprise somewhere and we never get bored. There are times I admit that we both just get downright annoyed but I would not trade it for anything. And I agree the german thing is a little creepy.

  7. My husband and I still have experiences like this and it’s been over 10 yrs together at this point. It definitely makes life interesting and fun. We actually had an incident today, but it was a goofup on my part language wise. (he asked me if my son was with me. i was driving at the time. i said yes, he is “afuera”, but i meant to say “atras” (backseat) we eventually got that one figured out.)
    When you stop and think about these incidences you and Sal will be rolling in the floor laughing one day just like my hubby and I. Great post!

  8. Shout out to your German reader! Two of my favorite professors, Dr. Jurgen Liebig and Dr. Manfred Laubichler hail from that great country.

Leave a Reply

