One Month Later

Standard

On May 20th, I published a post in which I made a resolution to blog every day for one month.  I decided to do this because as of August, I will be a writing teacher; it is difficult to lead students to find the worth in writing when their teacher does not show appreciation through practice.  There is great value in following the same practices we ask our students to engage in; it allows us to encounter that which frustrates them, gives us a better understanding of what we want and what we can expect, and provides us with material and experience that we may model for our students.

However, I did not continue to blog for one month simply because I wanted to practice what I teach; we are often motivated to begin such activities for reasons that are extraneous to ourselves–that are designed to help us better serve the outside world–but we stick with them for the internal rewards we reap from such practices.  When I sit down to create a post each day, I often struggle with what I want to write, and many times I want to walk away; yet at the end of each post, I find myself feeling better than I did when I began, and often I feel proud of what I have written.  I started writing to become a better teacher and I have continued writing because I enjoy it.

A lot of wonderful things have come from this blog.  I have found myself belonging to a community of individuals in the same or similar situations as myself.  Realizing that I am not alone in this journey of mine has helped me feel better about where my future is taking me.  For the first time, I am meeting people who live or will live in the same area where I am settling in Mexico and I no longer feel as though I will be the odd, isolated gringa.  Finally, there is so much that I have learned from those who comment and those whose blogs I read that I have discovered many surprises that were waiting for me before they had the chance to surprise me.  I imagine that much of the misery I would have felt adjusting to my new life has been alleviated, and perhaps I will reach that point of being settled and happy faster than I would have without these individuals.

Because of all this, I want to continue making the effort to write on a daily basis until I leave for Mexico.  As soon as I have internet there, I intend to resume writing several times a week.  Hopefully I will be able to remain connected to my network of support, and perhaps help a few people myself.

6 responses »

  1. You are SO right in all of this. When I “had” to move here because my husband wasn’t allowed back in the States for a while, I felt I was so alone. I had no one to talk to about it that could relate. All the people in my life that wanted to support me (and did support me in various ways) had no idea what to say. And, I’m not sure I knew what I was wanting them to say.

    I just recently (like in the last month) found all these blogs of expats living in Mexico. All for various reasons. And, although I no longer am unhappy with my life – I am actually enjoying my life – I still like the since of cyber community it creates. Also, some are a great resource for things such as ingredients and recipes! That I really enjoy.

    Anyway, I am glad you found all these blogs now when you are starting your journey. Of course I read a handful of them and some seem very bitter still. Which is understandable. But, I tend to lean more towards the ones that have made a life down here and just accept that life isn’t always planned, nor is it ever easy. You go with the flow, accept the cards you were dealt, hope you have a great support system and make good out of a bad/crazy situation.

    I tend to find the people that dwell on the negative never seem to have things go well for them. It is nice to see what a positive attitude you have towards your “new” life. I will admit it was a really rough start for me and I was negative at first. But, I quickly realized that you have to start living and get over things that are out of your control.

    I applaude you for how brave you are being and how you have realized so early in the game of how to play it in order to succeed. You go with your bad self! 🙂

    Sorry for the novel length response. But, you definitely struck a chord in me.

    • I know what you mean about the support from those in our lives; they mean well, but there is not really anything they can do to make it easier emotionally. Certainly they can assist in other ways, but it doesn’t alleviate the stress the fundamentals of the situation place on us. On top of it, they are often struggling with the idea of us leaving, or at least that is what I have encountered. I know my family seems to alternate between being sad, accepting that this is life, and feeling put out by the fact that I am not as upset as I suppose others might think I should be.

      It seems you and I found other bloggers at the same time. I am glad to hear that you are enjoying life. From what I have seen, you have a lovely home and your girls are darling, so you certainly have an excellent foundation.

      I try to stay positive, but I do have my worries (though I know it is quite natural). I feel as though my worries about the transition change every day, but my biggest worry is feeling stifled by losing my independence. In the US, I was always the one leading him around, ordering food for him, interacting with the rest of the world while he stood by my side. I am not certain how I will handle being the quiet one and relying on someone else to always speak for me. There are a lot of things these blogs have helped me understand, but the language barrier is just something I will have to slowly get past on my own.

      I agree about those who dwell on the negative are always those who seem to have the worst of life. I admit that I am scared of the changes, the surprises waiting for me, illness, and crime (particularly burglary as that is just about all there is to worry about in Pachuca). However, I try to think more about how wonderful it will all be, that this is an adventure, and that no one else in my family has ever done something like this. It is important to me to remember that I am brave to move so far away when the majority of my family lives within 15 minutes of where they grew up.

      And no problem with long comments. It is important to have this dialogue out there for others to consume.

  2. I started writing online for different reasons than you did and maybe I wasn’t even really sure why, but I also found a sense of community and a feeling that I am not on this journey alone.

  3. I started blogging after we moved from Puerto Vallarta to Guadalajara. The change was extremely difficult especially after living in PV for 17 years. Unfortunately, the change of a beach life to a city life caused me to become extremely depressed. Not only was I now living in a very big city, but it was cold and rainy, and I didn’t have a job, or friends. To make things worse, I turned 40. And then I found this incredible blog that changed my life. It’s from a woman that was in an airplane crash and had 80% of her body burnt. Her blog saved me. It really did.

    • So how do you like Guadalajara? I had considered applying to an American school there, but my husband says it is too expensive compared to Pachuca. He also thinks it is dangerous, but it seems plenty of bloggers live there just fine.

      I am glad that you found inspiration to get past the depression. I know how hard it is to pull yourself out of that hole.

  4. Great post. I am so thankful that I stummbled upon the blogging community. I agree that there is so much support there that we will just never get from our families no matter how much they support us. There is just a sense of understanding and a feeling of “I can do this” and almost a need to to be just as strong as all the other women and families that have made it happen. Glad we are all in this journey together.

Leave a Reply

