My Voice

Standard

When I was in my first year of classroom placements, there was one student in particular that I worked with every day–often one on one–as he was testing several grade levels below what was expected of him.  He was very special to me: a small and awkward boy with a speech impediment and hair the same color as his skin, causing all his features to run into one.  The other students picked on him a lot, but I never saw him bitter and I never saw him sad.

One day while we were working together in a conference room, he looked at me and said, “Mrs. B, I have never been able to learn before, but I think I can with you.  Your voice makes me want to learn.”

I have yet to figure out what it is about my voice that motivated him to learn, but I am thankful it did.

2 responses »

  1. Look how you touched this child. Amazing. Did you get to work with him for long? My daughter has a learning disability and so I know what it’s like to work with and live with a child who has special needs. I would love to hear your voice. I imagine that it’s calm, smooth, and full of love.

    • I worked with him part-time for about six months. He was a child who really impacted my perceptions and notions with which I enter a classroom. After I left, another one of my peers was placed with the same students (they loop and stay with the same kids and same teacher for 7th and 8th grade), and I got to hear updates about his life and progress. I think one of the saddest things about teaching is that once the year is over or once they graduate from the building, you may never see them again or know where life takes them.

Leave a Reply

