My German Stalker

Standard

German Stalker Stats

I stopped to look at my stats today and noticed something odd: my German stalker has not visited me since June 27th.

I wrote about this once before, just in an aside before going into my intended post.  This mysterious reader from Germany has bothered me ever since I created my Stat Counter account.  At first, I was pleased that someone from so far away was interested in what I had to say.  I thought that perhaps the visitor was involved in immigration problems, perhaps a spouse of a US citizen and currently barred from admission.

German Stalker was one of the first visitors Stat Counter documented and managed to accumulate some outrageous stats.  This IP has logged over 200 visits in the month I have had this counter–at least one of which lasted for more than 24 hours.  Nearly 100 of these visits have taken place over the last 10 days.  My counter provides a by country breakdown, and thanks to this one visitor, Germany is giving Mexico a run for its money and has on occasion beat both it and the US.

But now it has been nearly four days without German Stalker creeping around my blog.  For the past month, I have been bothered by the mystery surrounding these visits–the why, the who or what, but mostly the why.  Now, without German Stalker appearing in my stats, I wonder where did it go?  Had it finally logged enough days on my blog that boredom set in?  Was it ever real, or was it just some bot trolling my space?

Perhaps German Stalker is off creeping someone else’s blog out in this vast land of cyber space.  Maybe a blog far more worthy of spending 24 hours + at a time with.  And if so, let me say goodbye German Stalker!  Keep up the creeping, you do it so well.

7 responses »

  1. Wow! That sure is interesting. I wonder if it’s a he or a she. That’s one of the scary things about blogging…we really don’t know who is reading our blogs. I wish he/she would leave a comment and explain. Maybe he/she works in an office and has a computer in front of their face all day and surfs around on the Internet.

    I have a “Cluster Map” at the bottom of my blog and I can’t get over how people find our blog and read it. What is it about blogging? Why are we so curious to learn about other people’s lives? I don’t know the answers, but I do know how much I enjoy reading other blogs. 🙂

  2. My guess is it’s a bot. Or someone who has WAY too much time on their hands. Still a bit creepy though. It’s probably a good thing I don’t have a blog. I’d be obsessing way too much over stuff like that.

    I think we are all a little voyeuristic to some degree. People are interesting; especially the way they live their lives.

  3. Hey! I see you added a “ClustrMap” and you have lots of little dots! But I have a question for you…in your response you said it was a good thing you didn’t have a blog…what did you mean? Just curious.

    • Yeah, once it was mentioned, I thought that the visual of the map would be pretty cool.

      I think it was another commenter who said they do not have a blog. This one is all me, I promise!

Leave a Reply

