Watching American Television in Mexico

Standard

I have noticed that this topic comes up quite a bit in expat forums.  People leave the US, but do not want to leave behind the characters and plot lines they have become invested in.  Right or wrong, there are certain shows that I am not willing to let go quietly into the night of my American life; because of this, I have also been concerned about this topic.

My chosen solution has been joining Sidereel for free and purchasing an IP hider (Hide My IP was my choice, but others exist).  Sidereel serves as a directory of links to watch shows online and will alert you to new episodes of shows you subscribe to.  They also provide links to shows which no longer air–I have been using it to re-watch Sex and the City.  With the IP hider, I can view shows that are streamed on sites such as HULU or C BS, and access the instant streaming on Netflix; it also allows me to get around time restrictions on certain sites such as Megavideo.

So, for those of you currently living abroad (Mexico or not), what are solutions you have found?

8 responses »

  1. I watch my shows on this site: http://www.fastpasstv.ms The were on a .com but got pulled. I found them now at .ms

    It has television AND movies! There is no downloading, just upload like on youtube. Since my connection isn’t the quickest, I open the link start playing it and then pause it to let it load the rest of the way. Then I can enjoy most all of the shows that are playing in the US. My experience is by the next morning the current show is on the site. There are many different players to choose from, MegaVideo being one of them. But, I don’t choose them due to that nasty time restriction.

    I once tried downloading an IP hider and it didn’t work for me. But, I am not techno savey!

    • Mine is a paid IP hider, so it is pretty simple. I activate it when I want, and it slows my surfing a bit. I deactivate when I do not need the features. It allows me to select an IP in the US so it solves a lot of problems.

  2. I rarely watch TV online. The only times I have watched are on Thanksgiving to watch the Macy’s Day parade. But this post reminds me that I have a post sitting in my draft folder about watching TV in Mexico.

  3. I feel that is among the such a lot significant info for me. And i am glad reading your article. However wanna remark on few general issues, The website taste is ideal, the articles is really great :D. Excellent process, cheers.

  4. I use hosting sites like sidereel, tvduck, tvshack, casttv. I sometimes use an ip blocker (hotspot sheild) but i have not had success getting it to work with netflix. I will have to look into the one you use

  5. hi we go to playa del carmen for 2 months out of the year do you think this would work to watch dancing w/stars, bachelor or any food network or hgtv or travel channels current episodes? know we can watch when we get back but work alot and would be nice to wach them current

Leave a Reply

