A Little Bit About Hidalgo

Standard

Today, the Facebook page for Mexico Tourism Board Chicago began doing a feature on Hidalgo, which I the state I will be living in a little bit over two weeks from today.  I love this state, but it is not very well known and I would like for more people to learn about what it has to offer.

The Mexico Tourism Board Chicago posted an article about the magical towns of Hidalgo.  There are towns throughout the country which are officially designated as magical, which I admit sounds a bit silly and may conjure up images other than what they intended (like rabbits in hats); however, it denotes that these are very special places.

According to the article, there are three magical towns in the state of Hidalgo: Real del Monte, Huasca de Ocampo, and Mineral del Chico.  These three towns have been on my “must-see” list for some time, and I am happy to see them getting coverage.

If you live near Hidalgo or plan to travel nearby soon (these towns are in reasonable distance from D.F. for a day trip), consider spending the day in one of these towns.

And in case anyone is wondering, I am not being paid to write this, nor was I even asked to do so.  I am just really excited to see my future state featured.

10 responses »

  1. So is it sad that my knowledge of Real del Monte is from it being the setting of a telenovela? I’m not sure if it was even filmed in the real Real del Monte in Hidalgo. I like the “magical” designation. Many Mexican towns feel magical to me.

    • Not sad, no. I had never heard of it before my trip last May. I took a trolley tour and they kept mentioning it, so now it is on my list.

      I am mixed on the “magical” thing. I like the whimsy, but it still doesn’t sit quite right with me. Not that the Mexican government cares how it sits with me.

    • Thanks to this tourism board, I found a website I never knew existed and holy cow, there is so much there! Things I don’t think even Sal knows about. There are caves and such that are part of eco tourism packages that are in the same municipality as he is.

  2. I love Huasca de Ocampo, it’s exactly what I pictured a Mexican town would be like. Make sure you go to Las Prismas and the Hacienda San Miguel Regla when you’re in the area. And now I’m getting “homesick”. LOL

    • Ahh, sorry, didn’t want to make anyone home sick. I have such a hard time keeping everyone straight, so forgive me if I should already know this, but are you planning on visiting the area again in the future?

      • I lived in Acatlan briefly and look forward to going back. And it’s a good homesick – makes me realize home really is where the heart is, and my heart is in Mexico.

  3. Guess where I am right now? San Luis Potosi. I love it. Beautiful city. Beautiful weather. Beautiful people. I hear the most dangerous thing about San Luis Potosi is starving to death because the pay is too low.

    • I hope you are enjoying your time there. What are some of the important things to see there?

      Let me know if you are ever in the mood to explore Hidalgo!

Leave a Reply

