On My Roof

Standard

For a few weeks now, I have been having arguments around bedtime with Sal.  It all comes down to the noises on the roof.  These noises, which I interpret as human footsteps and Sal interprets as those of a cat, only begin when we are going to bed.

“Why would a person be on the roof?” Sal would ask me.

“I don’t know, but that isn’t a cat.”

At some point he began trying to go out and spot the cat, but the moment we open the door the noise stops.

A few days ago, the noise was more pronounced than ever.  It sounded like tap dancing on the roof.  Sal ran outside to try and see what was going on.  But the noise, as always, stopped.

Sal came to my side, deciding it was, indeed, human.  But who?  Who would tap dance on my roof?

We came up with many possibilities.  The unfriendly neighbors, some children climbing down from a second story, even possibly a certain student who loves to play tricks on me.  It became a game, to come up with more and more outrageous possibilities.

The issue remains unresolved.  I do not know who gets on my roof at night.

5 responses »

  1. Is there any way you or Sal can do a stake-out to see if you can’t catch the culprit? Or maybe a strategically placed video camera???

    We get noises on our roof and I thought they were human foot steps. But we then found out that it was our cats, playing on the roof in the middle of the night. 😛

    • Lol, I’m waiting to discover it is just cats. Not that I have ever seen cats in our neighborhood (perhaps because they are hiding on the roof). However, if it is a cat, it is a mighty big one.

  2. I often get faked out by noises in our concrete house. (We’re in Mazatlán) The people next door have some metal stairs that sound just like they are walking above us…. but it is to the side. I wonder if your neighbors have some stairs near your room?

  3. Ghosts! Based on a number of conversations with my Mexican relatives and neighbors, I have decided that there is a LOT more paranormal activity in Mexico than in the US. Why? Who knows–there are, no doubt, many reasons.

    But what else could it be? 😉

    And what novelty–you can boast to your friends and family about the ghost that lives on your roof!

Leave a Reply

