My Husband Left Me . . . for Don Mario

Standard

Friday night the school held a party for Teacher’s Day.  I had completely ignored any planning for the event throughout the week; on the morning of, I realized I had no idea what to wear.  Lucky for me, a dress my aunt had sent me arrived that day, ending this terrible dilemma.

When I tried it on, I was quite impressed.  While I usually feel quite comfortable in my clothes, I never particularly sexy.  This is probably a good thing considering I work with teenagers.  However, this dress made me feel like I was stunning.  Probably because it showed more cleavage than I had ever shown in my life.

My husband arrived home as I was getting ready.  He seemed pretty impressed with the dress, too.  Not long after he got home, it was time to get in the truck and head to the party.  We walked in and talked with a few friends of mine before making our way to the other side of the room.  Along the way, we stopped at the table where Don Mario was sitting.

Don Mario is on the maintenance staff at the school.  A few months back, he made our fence by hand and then helped my husband install it.  It was at this point that my husband and Don Mario became friends.  Most mornings, Don Mario is arriving as my husband drops me off and they say hello to each other using hand signals I have yet to master.

We stood near the table talking for a few minutes until my husband hopped into the only empty chair.  “You can go talk to your friends,” he told me.

Leaving to join my friends, I figured he would come over after a few minutes.  As time went by, I kept increasing my time frame for when he would join me.  15, 30, 45 minutes.  But aside from checking in a few times, my husband parked himself at Don Mario’s table from 7:45 until 11:30.

I spent my time with friends and enjoyed myself, but I was  a bit dismayed that my dress was no match for Don Mario’s magnetism.

Leave a Reply

