The Raven

Standard

My students are working on adapting The Raven into a play.  Since this is an older work with a lot of English that no one uses anymore there have been a lot of pronunciation mistakes.  During the readings today, however, one really took the cake.  The offending word is in the following passage:

“Prophet!” said I, “thing of evil! – prophet still, if bird or devil! –
Whether Tempter sent, or whether tempest tossed thee here ashore,
Desolate yet all undaunted, on this desert land enchanted-
On this home by Horror haunted- tell me truly, I implore-
Is there- is there balm in Gilead?- tell me- tell me, I implore!”
Quoth the Raven, “Nevermore.”

Now, there are many words in this passage that students struggled with.  Despite this, the offending word was not one I was anticipating problems with.  It is the word “ashore”.  And when a student first said it, I literally gasped.

Can you guess how they said it?

3 responses »

  1. Hahaha I remember you talking about this, but reading it gave me a new chuckle. What, espanol has no ´sh´ combo? That´s a mini phonics lesson.

Leave a Reply

