“What do you miss about the United States?”

Standard

I asked my husband this question last night, but limited it by saying he could not say my family or the money he made while working there.  My goal was to get something out of him that I could bring back as I am heading to my other home for a short stay tomorrow.  It didn’t take long for him to come up with an answer.

“Special fried rice.  With the ham, and the shrimp, and the chicken.”

Well, I was doubtful I would make it through customs with special fried rice.  Not to mention how gross it would be after sitting in the fridge overnight in wait for my 9 am flight out, then making its way to Mexico over about half a day.  I asked for something else.

“I miss big TV’s to watch football on.”

Okay, also not going in my luggage.  Once again, I asked for something else.

This time he took a while to come up with something, but when he did, he was very excited.  “The little tractor!  I miss driving the little tractor to cut the grass!”

A riding lawnmower also not likely to fit into my suitcase.  I pressed him for more, but he had nothing.  To help, I gave examples of all the little things I would miss from Mexico should I live elsewhere again, but they triggered no desires in him; all he misses beyond family and money is special fried rice, big TV’s, and cutting the grass.  We ultimately settled on me bringing him back a pair of jeans.

3 responses »

  1. WOW! My husband would list off so many things, and he has been here for 4.5 years. But, he is very materialist, but I still love him! 🙂

    Hope you have a fun trip! Safe travels. I’m looking forward to my trip in October! And, I already have a list of things I want to buy!

Leave a Reply

